lost, for a little while


the plan.
August 23, 2010, 9:50 pm
Filed under: ideas, plan

I can’t undo 23 years of being responsible, careful, and thorough in an instant. As much as I’d love to walk into my boss’s office tomorrow and tell her I quit my job, I can’t. I have an apartment lease to uphold, a professional reputation to remain untarnished, and a future to keep in tact.

(Okay, it’s mostly just the fact that starting a ’round-the-country trip as it gets to be fall is just plain stupid. I want to enjoy myself, not get caught in a snowstorm and die in the middle of nowhere.)

So I’m giving myself until February, when my lease is up and I’ll have been at my job for a full year–the amount of time that seems to be acceptable to fathers and future employers, alike. Then I’ll be free, and will take as much time as necessary to meander my way around the country, meeting people, seeing stuff, and essentially taking a vacation from this mundane life I’ve been living.

In the meantime, I’ll be doing what I do best: research. I’ve got to plan a route, figure out a budget, find places to stay, make my car journey-worthy, and complete a dozen other tasks before I’ll be ready. Hopefully, my friends, family, and whoever the hell else is reading this will be of some assistance. Either way, I’ll be cataloging the process here, so feel free to chime in.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

You know you always have a place to stay in Williamsburg, Brooklyn! Good luck, Lisa!

Comment by Dana




Leave a Reply

