lost, for a little while


sunset mag – august 2010
August 25, 2010, 11:08 am
Filed under: articles, inspiration

It almost feels like Sunsets August issue was written for me. Yeah, it’s got the usual recipes and DIY ideas that I love, but it also has a person’s reaction to seeing the Grand Canyon for the first time, and a profile of a Yellowstone park ranger for Why I Live Here.

Some excerpts from the profile that hit home:

“When I stepped off the bus in Yellowstone, it felt primordial. You have eruptive hot springs, Ice Age-like animals, the smell of sulfur; it feels like the beginning of the world. So if you’re a kid from Detroit like I was, it’s overwhelming–in a good way.”

“These are landscapes that shaped our national character. Millions of Americans have never been to a national park–that should be illegal.”

– Ranger Shelton Johnson, star of Ken Burns’s national parks documentary (Sunset, August 2010, p 17)

Those who are from metro-Detroit and have never been to a national park, raise your hand! (Also, the Ken Burns doc is now in my NetFlix queue — I hear it’s a snoozefest, but maybe it’ll keep me psyched through the long winter that I can see approaching.)

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] by the fire. They even meet up with Ranger Shelton Johnson, who first caught my attention back in August’s issue of Sunset (it’s a sign!). According to this article on Wend and this description on the show’s […]

Pingback by oprah heads to yosemite « lost, for a little while




Leave a Reply

