lost, for a little while


lessons learned vol. 1
August 30, 2010, 9:04 pm
Filed under: advice, fail

So, my  swashbuckling first attempt at an Into the Wild experience didn’t go so smoothly. Very little in my life does, but as long as I know better for next time and have a crazy story I can share, it’s all good.

Class, what did we learn from that weekend in Scotland?

  • Don’t ban the plan. Confession: my semester abroad was my try at living in the moment, being more spontaneous, and not being so afraid of things not going my way. That’s all well and good, but my extreme ban on plans was totally unnecessary. Planning isn’t the problem; you just need to be able to adjust to sudden changes in the plan.
  • Pack accordingly. I don’t know if I even brought an umbrella to Scotland, much less enough changes of clothes to keep up with the never-ending downpours. My comic book collection and pineapple lamp won’t be accompanying me around the country, but a wardrobe for any weather and season imaginable might be.
  • People can be pretty decent. I’m not the most outgoing person–not the type to start up conversations with fellow bus passengers, randomly introduce myself to a person at a bar, or even make eye contact when walking down the street. But my weekend would have been so, so much worse if it wasn’t for the kindness of strangers giving me rides, inviting me to dinner, and just making me feel less alone.
2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I just watched Into the Wild. That guy died of stupidity. Do not try at home.

Comment by Matt

[…] be continued in Lessons Learned. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)It Has to Stop Raining. Leave a Comment Leave a […]

Pingback by hitchhiking in scotland « lost, for a little while




Leave a Reply

