lost, for a little while


mini road trip: charlottesville, va
September 7, 2010, 11:06 am
Filed under: memories, trips

King Family Vineyard; Crozet, VA

Friday afternoon, I sped out of town and headed south to Charlottesville, VA to visit my friend, Schuyler, for Labor Day weekend. I was a little busy having an awesome time, so I didn’t take any pictures myself, but this one above is of the King Family Vineyard, where we spent Sunday afternoon.

For $5, we got to sample seven wines, and I now officially have my very first wine glass. I feel so grown up. (Note: Normal tastings allow for six wines, but if you go on Sundays, you get to try the Seven which is named in honor of the 7th chukker in polo.)

On Sundays, the vineyard also hosts polo matches on the enormous field they have set up behind the main building. We met up with some of Schuyler’s friends and had a picnic on the grass beside the field, drinking wine, eating cheese & crackers, and occasionally glancing over to see what was going on with the polo game (it ended in a tie).

That evening, Schuyler hosted a dinner party to show off his mad culinary skills, and we dined on asparagus wrapped in mozzarella, tomato, prosciutto, and dough; cream of mushroom soup; a refreshing apple & avocado salad; tilapia stuffed with spinach and cream sauce; and some chili chocolate cakes topped with banana slices and raspberry sauce. Even if I didn’t spend the majority of my days eating random scraps found in the fridge, it still would have been my best meal all year.

Lest you think I’m some kind of fancy-pants adult, allow me to mention where we went Saturday: Kings Dominion Amusement Park. It’s owned by the same company as Cedar Point (and Dorney Park, which is right by me), but was missing the insane crowds and long lines that its Ohio brethren suffers from.

Charlottesville is a gorgeous city, and the drive down was a relaxing cruise past green mountains and sprawling farmland. I can’t wait to visit again sometime — Schuyler’s promised me a ride on his motorcycle the next time I come down!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] sensing a pattern here: good food = good trip. See mini road trip: Charlottesville for further […]

Pingback by mini road trip: boston « lost, for a little while




Leave a Reply

