lost, for a little while


what I’m reading
September 9, 2010, 11:56 am
Filed under: advice, articles, inspiration, sources

photo courtesy of il lele via flickr

  • Intently following the last legs of a journey from Brazil to NYC courtesy of the New York Times’s Frugal Traveler. The latest installment has gotten me pumped for Savannah, and offered some web sites for finding cheap lodging that I’ll have to check out.
  • Granted, it’s not reading, but this collection of USA road trip shots by il lele (via Gadling’s photo of the day) is gorgeous.
  • Over on Intelligent Travel, a member of the National Geographic Kids department is guestblogging about her hike in the Grand Canyon. With no hiking experience, a lot of enthusiasm, and a practically-ancient guidebook (1989!), she sounds like a gal after my own heart.
  • If I owned a phone that was from this decade, I’d download the Trapster app in a second. I passed so many cops on my way to Charlottesville that I now have a permanent case of speeding paranoia, which does not mesh well with my lead foot (90 mph is the norm in Michigan, I swear). The free app allows users to submit known speed traps, areas being patrolled by cops, and more. (via Intelligent Travel and Lifehacker)
  • Drives of a Lifetime. Enough said.
  • Another cool tool: MIT student Joe McMichael has put together Globe Genie, which lets you randomly jump to different Google street views all over the world. Might be a good thing to tide me over when the wanderlust gets too strong. (Not surprisingly, you get more interesting locations when you don’t limit the choices to North America…)
Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

