lost, for a little while


nps unveils vintage park brochures
September 10, 2010, 9:51 am
Filed under: design

Carlsbad Caverns, 1942

I’m a huge design nerd, so when I read that the National Park Service had posted a collection of historical park brochures to their web site, I clicked over immediately. And then spent a good twenty minutes scrolling through just a few batches of them, trying to pick my favorites. If I had it my way, this post would be endless, but I tried to restrain myself and just highlight a few.

Manassas, 1971

Glacier National Park brochure

Glacier National Park, 1938

Coronado brochure

Coronado, 1971

Bandelier brochure

Bandelier National Monument, 1925

It’s fascinating to see the range of designs for a single park, and notice how they change based on the style of the times. If I could get my hands on some of these, they’d be framed and up on the wall in a second.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

