lost, for a little while


what i’m reading
January 12, 2011, 12:13 pm
Filed under: articles, ideas, inspiration, sources
Cafe du Monde

Cafe du Monde in New Orleans

  • I like to think that I’ve developed some healthier eating habits as I’ve gotten older, but I know that when I get in the car for a long haul, I crumble under the pressure of gas station snacks and greasy food court options. This slideshow from Frommer’s actually offers some legit tips on making healthier eating choices when you’re on the road.
  • For those of you not armed with an America the Beautiful pass, multiple visits to national parks can add up in entrance fees. Mark your calendars for this year’s fee-free days. (The first one’s this weekend!)
  • Guidebooks are good and all, but nothing beats recs from real, live people. (Or virtual, live people, I guess.) Shelterrific asked where to eat in New Orleans, and the commenters sounded off their opinions. So interesting to see where the recs overlapped and where they differed.
  • Alcohol and books?? Styleture reports on a trend in L.A. that’s got bars lining their walls with novels and encyclopedias and rocking the library aesthetic. I MUST check this out.
  • An oldie, but goodie: former NYT Frugal Traveler Matt Gross took his own road trip across America in 2007 and lived to tell the tale. I found his location choices to be very odd, but reading about the experience, how much (or little) he planned for everything, etc. was helpful.
  • Apartment Therapy asks its readers: Would you try Couchsurfing? The comments seem fairly split if not erring more on the side of ‘Yes.’ Oddly enough, my concerns have nothing to do with my safety or my valuables (I really don’t own much worth stealing). I just enjoy being by myself a lot. That being said, I’m determined to keep my resolution and try it sometime.
Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

