lost, for a little while


the northeast: yea, or nay?
January 19, 2011, 11:18 pm
Filed under: advice, plan, rant

I used to be so badass.

I’ve been thinkin’ a lot, lately. Stuff like What’s up with my hair? or Is it bad to eat chocolate-covered trail mix for dinner? but also mostly this:

Fuck, it’s cold. (Sorry, mom.)

I’ve been wearing long underwear pretty much 24/7 for the past two and a half months, and my poor hands have soaked up what feels like gallons of moisturizing lotion in that same amount of time. In the two minutes and seven seconds it takes for me to walk from the parking lot to my office building, my hair conducts enough static electricity to power a small town, and my eyes furiously tear up — yes, from the wind, but also almost as if to cry out “Why, Lisa? Why do you subject yourself to this every year?”

Call me a wimp if you must, but the truth is that I was not built for winter. Sure, back when I spent my afternoons careening down monster sledding hills or carving out elaborate snow caves, it could be fun. But currently, I sit inside a windowless box all day, huddle next to my HappyLight 6000 in the evenings, and pretty much freeze my butt off the rest of the time. Even if I gained 20 pounds of padding and retired my razor in favor of leg warmers au naturale, I’d probably still be complaining about the cold. So, this all begs the question: why am I planning on starting my trip in the Northeast, land of the U.S. snowpacalypse?

…I’m not really sure, actually.

Sure, a lot of my friends live in this little section of the world, but doesn’t that just make it all the more easy to go back and visit another time? A time when, say, the daily forecast is for a high of 77 degrees Fahrenheit? Not to mention the fact that, aside from Maine, I’ve already been practically everywhere on that leg of the itinerary?

I’ve heard very good things about Maine, though. And my friends are good people.

I’m conflicted. What’s a cold-blooded gal like me to do?

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

From the Minneapolis contingent, where the current temperature is -3 and the forecasted low tomorrow night is -22 (Note that this is actual temperature, not windchill)…… Suck it up!

Comment by Craig

Please note that I am leaving Minneapolis until the summer to visit. Enough said.

Comment by lostforalittlewhile

Winter builds character. I’m raising my kids in an igloo. An igloo I’ll make them build themselves.

Comment by Kyle Adams

I’m from California and I say go to Maine!

Comment by Kenny




Leave a Reply

