lost, for a little while


goal accomplished: watch easy rider
January 27, 2011, 9:43 pm
Filed under: inspiration

"A man went looking for America. And couldn't find it anywhere."

I made some goals at the beginning of this year because I work best when I’ve got a list of things to check off. One of those goals? Watch the 1969 film Easy Rider, starring Dennis Hopper and Peter Fonda. While consulting advice from one of my friends, I was told this:

“good movie to watch: easy rider. let the story be secondary to the scenery.”

Truer words may have never been spoken. Honestly, I had no clue what was going on in this film about 90% of the time. My comprehension was pretty much limited to: 1. Peter Fonda was a fox. 2. Hey! That’s young Jack Nicholson! 3. Huh. So that’s where that scene in Starsky & Hutch came from.

Okay, that’s not true. I got this much: These two hippies make a drug deal, and they use the money to drive to New Orleans for Mardi Gras. Along the way, they sleep in the desert, visit a commune, and share a jail cell with Jack Nicholson. Also, a lot of people don’t like hippies.

My college film theory professor would be so disappointed. (Especially since I didn’t notice any homosexual undertones. That guaranteed an A every time.)  But my friend was right: the scenery was fabulous, and a nice motivational kick in the butt to take my mind off of other stressors.

So maybe watch with the TV on mute? And try to forget that Dennis Hopper was ever in Blue Velvet?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

