lost, for a little while


the big one
May 5, 2011, 8:39 am
Filed under: car, memories

So, at some point after counting my tenth dead armadillo on the side of the road as I drove through the last of the Florida panhandle, my odometer clicked over from this:

Wait for it...

To this:

YESSSS

I wanted to pull over and have a celebratory drink, but unfortunately, I had no alcohol with me — plus, I still had a few hours left to drive and I was afraid of getting leprosy from all the armadillos. So I settled for giving the dashboard an affectionate pat.

You’re my boy, Blue.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

100,000 miles on a Honda. It’s just getting broken in. It’s good for at least 100,000 more and then some if you take care of it.

Comment by uncle jerry

That’s what I like to hear!

Comment by lostforalittlewhile

This reminds me of how excited I was when my odometer hit 47400. I realize this number means nothing to most people, but it’s the first five digits of all Gillette UPCs. I also took a photo.

Comment by Craig

My Honda of 130,000 miles made it for 15 years…and probably would still be going strong if I hadn’t turned in for a new car…they’re better than an energizer bunny!

Comment by Aunt Janet




Leave a Reply

