lost, for a little while


interlude: milwaukee
July 22, 2011, 8:14 pm
Filed under: trips

On the Miller Brewery Tour

My beloved Midwest was conspiring against me.

In Minneapolis–where everyone told me it was best to experience the city by walking around and seeing the parks and lakes–it rained practically every day I was there. And any of the museums that I planned to use as my emergency back-up activities were closed because a little thing called the government was shut down.

(They miraculously fixed that the last day I was in town.)

When I arrived in Milwaukee, the heat wave that would last all week was just getting started. There would be absolutely no wandering–just precise movement to get me from one place of air-conditioned bliss (Eric’s house) to another (Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 2).

But you know what never lets you down in a time of crisis, of government shut down, of ridiculous, disgusting, sticky heat?

Beer.

Just my luck, Milwaukee had plenty of it.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

